The Town Mayor is elected annually by members of the Town Council at their Annual Meeting.

The candidate holds office for one year and becomes the ‘First Citizen’ of the town, performing ceremonial duties, acting as the public face of the Council and representing the Council at official and community events.

Would you like the Mayor to come to your event?

Please contact the Democratic Services Officer, Abby Woods

Click Here or call on 02920 700 721.

Things to include :

  • The exact time your event starts as well as a finish time.
  • Where your event is.
  • What your event is in aid of.
  • If you’d like the Mayor to say a few words at your event.

Please feel free to fill out the booking form for your event or project here :

Meet Councillor Jon Luxton who was elected Penarth Town Mayor on Friday 18th May 2018 at the Annual General Meeting of Penarth Town Council.

Jon represent the Stanwell Ward of Penarth.

His chosen charities are The SAFE Foundation, Pride Cymru and VCS Cardiff & Penarth 



2017 – 2018

Ken Lloyd

2016 – 2017

M. Cuddy


R. Cook

2014 – 2015

M.J. Turner

2013-  2014

Neil C. Thomas

2012 – 2013

Philip Rapier

2011 – 2012

A.M Ernest

2010 – 2011

Paul Church

2009 – 2010

John F. Fraser

2008 – 2009

Maureen Kelly Owen

2007 – 2008

Gwyn Roberts

2006 – 2007

Mark R. Wilson

2005 – 2006

Charles J.S. Curran